Goals

They’re anti-sad, but pro-happy comes not from checking off boxes but by building meaningful relationships with God, self, family, and friends.

Why do I measure? Because whenever things aren’t going well I often attribute it to a lacking of one of these things. But I don’t keep this checkbox list to make me happy. Happiness is perspective and relationships. Purpose. So why this list? Well, they’re the foundation of a guided, structured, and prosperous life.

  • Studying scriptures and praying teaches me who I am and what my purpose is here on earth. It also gives me perfect role models to follow (Christ’s example in the scriptures, and God’s influence on me during prayer). What better way to guide your rudder (as Christensen says), than to be influenced by God on a daily basis. They say you’re the average of the 5 people you spend the most time with. Why not make the number 1 person you spend your most valuable time to be God? (I don’t have to spend 5 hours. 5 very meaningful minutes can correct my day.)

  • Writing about my study is my little attempt to share God’s light with the world. Imagine what social media would look like if everyone shared an insight from Marcus Aurelius, Buddha, Ghandi, Jesus, Mohammad, on a daily basis and how that insight affected their perspective? Be the change you want to see in the world, they say.

  • Writing gratitude rewires my brain. It causes me to see things I wouldn’t. Why not just say things I’m grateful for during prayer or a gratitude journal? I dunno. Those things don’t help me for some reason. It always feels forced (I’ve tried it dozens of ways). Somehow, writing in public, gives me a great sense of “I mean it.” Helps me think about that thing. Give it real thought.

  • Physical health. Strength helps my bones. The effects of weight lifting are seen over decades, not months. I need to take better care of my bones. Same with cardio. They both energize today, but they prevent a whole host of bad things tomorrow and beyond. The effects are compounding - in both directions. Physical health also drives me to eat better. Eating better doesn’t cause me to exercise, but exercising caueses me to eat better. Less snacks.

  • Meditating helps me train my mind. It’s a moment where I think about something I want to improve on. Less reactivity as a dad to kids misbehaving. More optimism. More appreciation for the body I have, the health I enjoy, the freedom I have in this world.

Objective

  • Deepen my relationship with and connection to God, self, family, and friends.
  • Enjoy intellectual growth and historical understanding
  • Have fun.

KPIs

Reading:

  • 52 books. 12 fiction. 12 biographies. 12 business/self help. 4 religious. And 12 free choice (history, philosophy, career/data-ai). See Reading List.

Daily Habits:

  • Pray
  • Meditate
  • Workout (strength and cardio)
  • Give thanks (write a post)
  • Study scriptures (write a post)
  • Go to Sleep by 10:30pm

Weekly Habits:

  • Family Home Evening with my kids (Come Follow Me study + activity)
  • Church by 9:45
  • Call a friend
  • Hike (Goal: 30+ hikes in the year)

Monthly:

  • Date night.

Quarterly:

  • Attend the temple - a religious building (separate from church).
  • Explore and vacate: Weekend trip or week vacation to new place (national parks, overnight stay). Goal is 4 trips this year.
Figure 1: Goals
Daily Habits
☀️ 💧 📖 🙏🏻 🚴🏻 🏋🏼‍♂️ 🧘🏼‍♂️ 🛐 🔗
Mon 2/19 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
Sun 2/18 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
Sat 2/17 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0
Fri 2/16 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
Thu 2/15 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
Wed 2/14 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 1 0
Tue 2/13 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 1 0
Mon 2/12 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 1 0
Sun 2/11 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
Sat 2/10 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 1 0
Fri 2/9 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 1 0
Thu 2/8 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
Wed 2/7 1 0 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
Tue 2/6 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 1 0
Mon 2/5 1 1 1 1 1 1 0 1 0
📖: Study, 🙏🏻: Gratitude, 🛐: Pray, 🚴🏻‍♂️: Cardio, 🏋🏼‍♂️: Strength, 🧘🏼‍♂️: Meditate
Figure 2: Recent streak
Bike Records
Time KJ Avg W Day Notes 90% 80% 70%
15.0 216 240 2024-01-27 NA 194.4KJ (216avg) 172.8KJ (192avg) 151.2KJ (168avg)
7.5 127 281 2024-02-02 Start 240 at beginning. Then cranked up until 280 by 7.5. Interrupted by things. 114.3KJ (252.9avg) 101.6KJ (224.8avg) 88.9KJ (196.7avg)
10.0 184 307 2024-02-03 Started at 240. Got to 270 by 3 min. Stayed there until 6:40 and pushed to 300 at 100pct until I got 300 at 9 min. Stayed there till 307 165.6KJ (276.3avg) 147.2KJ (245.6avg) 128.8KJ (214.9avg)
Figure 3: Peloton Records

Date Title Description
Monday February 19, 2024 2024-02-19 x
Sunday February 18, 2024 2024-02-18 x
Saturday February 17, 2024 2024-02-17 x
Friday February 16, 2024 2024-02-16 x
Thursday February 15, 2024 2024-02-15 x
Wednesday February 14, 2024 2024-02-14 x
Tuesday February 13, 2024 2024-02-13 x
Monday February 12, 2024 2024-02-12 x
Saturday February 10, 2024 2024-02-10 x
Friday February 9, 2024 2024-02-09 x
Thursday February 8, 2024 2024-02-08 x
Wednesday February 7, 2024 2024-02-07 x
Tuesday February 6, 2024 2024-02-06 x
Monday February 5, 2024 2024-02-05 10 min pelo. 50 pushups
Sunday February 4, 2024 2024-02-04 x
Saturday February 3, 2024 2024-02-03 Peloton PR 10 min.
Friday February 2, 2024 2024-02-02 x
Thursday February 1, 2024 2024-02-01 x
Wednesday January 31, 2024 2024-01-31 x
Tuesday January 30, 2024 2024-01-30 x
Monday January 29, 2024 2024-01-29 Tabata. Pushups, crunches, squats, lower back raises. 45s on, 30s rest.
Sunday January 28, 2024 2024-01-28 x
Saturday January 27, 2024 2024-01-27 Pelo 20. Bench. Kettlebells, triceps.
Friday January 26, 2024 2024-01-26 x
Thursday January 25, 2024 2024-01-25 10m Tabata bodyweight. Push-up, sit-up, body squat, lower leg. 45on, 30s rest, 1m round rest.
Wednesday January 24, 2024 2024-01-24 x
Tuesday January 23, 2024 2024-01-23 x
Monday January 22, 2024 2024-01-22 15m pelo zone 2. Triceps at 20lb+5-way shoulders super at 8lb. Shrugs + calves 20 at 60 and 50lbs
Sunday January 21, 2024 2024-01-21 x
Saturday January 20, 2024 2024-01-20 10m pelo 156kj. Bench-65x5,67x5,70x 6. Nothing else.
Friday January 19, 2024 2024-01-19 Tabata. Pushups, crunches, squats, lower back raises. 45s on, 30s rest.
Thursday January 18, 2024 2024-01-18 x
Wednesday January 17, 2024 2024-01-17 x
Tuesday January 16, 2024 2024-01-16 Bike 15. Kettle bell. Drop ser.
Monday January 15, 2024 2024-01-15 Jump rope. Bench. 60,65,67.5. Arms.
Sunday January 14, 2024 2024-01-14 x
Saturday January 13, 2024 2024-01-13 2 min workout in room. Pushups then lower back lifts. 20 of each, 2 sets. L
Friday January 12, 2024 2024-01-12 x
Thursday January 11, 2024 goals Pelo 200avg for a few min, then get up to 230avg by 5 min. Superset of DB bench at 50, 60, 60 with leg raises of 10 on last two
Wednesday January 10, 2024 Goals 10m bike 210avg. 3x superset of calves+shrugs and dbdlift 50lbs both. About 8-10 reps each.
Tuesday January 9, 2024 Workout Two Tabatas. First was kettlebell, then pushups then sit ups. Two rounds. Second Tabata was rows and biceps. Three rounds.
Monday January 8, 2024 Body: Sit-up, pushup, squat tabata 60s sit-up, 60s pushup, 60s squat. 2 sets. 30s rest in between. Replaced squats with squat jumps. Didn’t rest. Stayed in plank, down squat, or descending sit-up position.
Thursday January 13, 2000 test 2 min workout in room. Pushups then lower back lifts. 20 of each, 2 sets. L
No matching items

_________________________

Bryan lives somewhere at the intersection of faith, fatherhood, and futurism and writes about tech, books, Christianity, gratitude, and whatever’s on his mind. If you liked reading, perhaps you’ll also like subscribing: